Flat Design in Website Development

  • 6 min read

Rating

Website development is the process of building websites or web applications (apps). If we consider the process of building a website we can see that it consists of two things.

The first is programming, or writing the code of a website. The second is design, or creating the website's layout and visual identity. In this article I'll talk about flat design in website development.

After reading this article you'll know:
  • What it is
  • How it's used in website development
  • What are the best practices to follow
Design is very important in web development, and especially when building websites. Aside from creating visually appealing websites (let's be honest here, nobody likes to look at ugly stuff), there are other aspects we shouldn't ignore.

Good web design can improve search engine optimization (SEO) efforts by making people stay on your page longer. It can also improve the user experience (UX) elements of your website, making people more satisfied with interacting with your website.


What is flat design?

According to Interaction Design Foundation flat design is a user interface design style that uses simple, two-dimensional lelements and bright colors. It is often contrasted to the skeuomorphic style that gives the illusion of threee dimensions through copying real life properties.

I'll offer a simpler definition:

Flat design is a minimalist design approach that emphasizes usability.

It features:
  • clean, open space,
  • crisp edges,
  • bright colors and
  • two-dimensional illustrations.
Flat design has a distinct look and feel without all the extras. It relies on a clear sense of hierarchy in the design and placement of elements to make successful projects easy for users to understand and interact with.

While more and more websites are using flat design principles, it is maybe even more popular for app and mobile design. With small screens, there are fewer buttons and options, making a flat interface fairly easy to use. Example below presents "Order" screen in mobile app with simple flat illustration.


Food finder app by Shojol Islam

 

What goes into flat design?

The good news is that flat designs are pretty easy to create.

The designer needs to focus on simple experiences and can then use:
  • Strong, contrasting colors to add emphasis on details within icons, illustrations, etc.
  • Sans serif typography in large and easy to read fonts that offer straightforward indications of what an icon or illustration is for
  • Crisp, clean UI elements that are easy to see and easy to comprehend
This should bring together a visually consistent and functional design for the UI.


Flat design principles

Here's a list of major flat design principles:


No added effects

Flat design gets its name from the shapes used. It employs a distinct two-dimensional style that is simply flat.

The concept works without embellishment – drop shadows, bevels, embossing, gradients or other tools that add depth. Every element or box, from image frames to buttons to navigational tools, is crisp and lacks feathered edges or shadows.


Simple effects

Flat design uses many simple user interface elements, such as buttons and icons. Designers often stick to simple shapes, such as rectangles, circles or squares and allow each shape to stand alone. Shape edges can be perfectly angular and square or include curvature.


Focus on typography

Because of the simple nature of element in flat design, typography is extremely important. The tone of typefaces should match the overall simplistic design.


Focus on color

Color is an important element of flat design. While most color palettes focus on two or three colors at most, flat design palettes may use six to eight colors equally.

Example below present onboarding concept by designer Darko Vujic who uses falt design principles to create beautiful onboarding illustrations.


website

Source


Minimalist approach

Flat design works well with a minimalist design approach. The focus should be on simple colors and photography.

Flat design on Swiss web

Like the rest of the web, flat design is omnipresent on the Swiss web.Let's take a look at some websites that use flat design as their visual language for creating unique user experiences.

First example is RDT54 website. They specialize in the management and coordination of real estate projects. Visuals on the website are clean and modern. The website consists of flat icons and shapes. The colors are bold and bright and are used to accent and distinguish services they provide.

website

Source


The second example is a campaign microsite which uses simple color effects on images and flat illustrations to tell a story. With plenty of whitespace and bold typography this microsite is effective in getting its point across to users.

website

Source


The third example is a traveling website which helps you explore and book experiences in a single space.  The homepage consists of a simple layout. Every image is embelished with simple illustrations which makes this website more playful and more unique.

Source

Swiss design is known worldwide for its simplicity and effectivness. It favors minimalism and uses heavy typographic grids and simple geometric shapes. All those features are used in flat design, therefore flat design is perfect for the Swiss web domains.

Flat design in 2019

website

Source


This style of design started off as just another trend, but over the years it became the standard for web design. Reason for the rise of flat design is the need for fast-loading websites. Users expect enjoyable browsing experience on both mobile and desktop. This might change with the rise of material design.

Since 2014, user experience design has started moving towards more engaging level. Animations, 3D icons, light and shading features and gradients became one of the main design tools for user-centric approach.

From bland minimalism and crispness of flat design we moved to liveliness, increased interactivity and adaptability of design to various devices and customizations.

While design changes slowly creep up on us, some features will still be useful and present. Strife for minimalism and structure, and the use of bright colors will still be main principles of good web design.

Example below presents website that uses flat design with 3D effects and animations.

 

Conclusion

Flat design is a minimalist approach to design. It is intended to reduce complexity in the design and thus enhance the user experience.

Flat design has all the key attributes that make a site as functional as it is beautiful. It brings us a step closer to a new paradigm of digital design, where the functionality and aesthetic are in complete harmony.

If you need help with designing your website, please contact us today for a free consultation. 

Contact us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

Share

Subscribe to our newsletter

Flat Design in Web Development

  • 6 min read

Rating

Web Development ist der Prozess der Erstellung von Websites oder Web-Anwendungen (Apps). Wenn wir den Prozess des Aufbaus einer Website betrachten, können wir sehen, dass es aus zwei Dingen besteht.

Das erste ist die Programmierung oder das Schreiben des Codes einer Website. Das zweite ist das Design oder das Erstellen des Layouts und der visuellen Identität der Website. In diesem Artikel werde ich über Flat Design in der Website-Entwicklung sprechen.

Nach dem Lesen dieses Artikels werden Sie wissen:
  • Was Flat Desgin ist
  • Wie es in der Website-Entwicklung verwendet wird
  • Was für Eigenschaften es hat
Design ist sehr wichtig in der Webentwicklung, insbesondere beim Erstellen von Websites. Abgesehen von der Erstellung visuell ansprechender Websites (seien wir mal ehrlich, niemand schaut sich gerne schlechte Sachen an) gibt es andere Aspekte, die wir nicht ignorieren sollten.

Gutes Webdesign kann die Bemühungen der Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) verbessern, indem die Leute länger auf Ihrer Seite bleiben. Es kann auch die User Experience (UX) -Elemente Ihrer Website verbessern und die Benutzer mit der Interaktion mit Ihrer Website zufriedener machen


Was ist Flat Design?

Es gibt mehrere Möglichkeiten, es zu beschreiben. Laut Wikipedia:

Flat Design ist eine Art von Interface-Design, dass die minimale Verwendung von Stilelementen betont, die die Illusion von drei Dimensionen (wie die Verwendung von Schlagschatten, Farbverläufen oder Texturen) vermitteln und sich auf eine minimalistische Verwendung einfacher Elemente, Typografie und flache Farben konzentriert.

Ich werde eine einfachere Definition anbieten:

Flat Design ist ein minimalistischer Design-Ansatz, der die Benutzerfreundlichkeit betont.

Es bietet
  • saubereoffene Räume,
  • scharfe Kanten,
  • helle Farben und
  • zweidimensionale Illustrationen.
Flat Design hat ein klares Aussehen und Gefühl ohne alle Extras. Es basiert auf einem klaren Gefühl der Hierarchie in der Gestaltung und Platzierung von Elementen, damit erfolgreiche Projekte für die Benutzer einfach zu verstehen und zu interagieren sind.

Während immer mehr Websites flache Designprinzipien verwenden, ist es vielleicht noch beliebter für App und mobiles Design. Bei kleinen Bildschirmen gibt es weniger Schaltflächen und Optionen, wodurch eine flache Oberfläche relativ einfach zu bedienen ist.


flat design
Food finder app by Shojol Islam


Eigenschaften des Flat Designs:

Keine zusätzlichen Effekte

Flat Design hat seinen Namen von den verwendeten Formen. Es verwendet einen eindeutigen zweidimensionalen Stil, der einfach flach (flat) ist.

Das Konzept funktioniert ohne Verschönerung - Schlagschatten, Abschrägungen, Prägungen, Farbverläufe oder andere Werkzeuge, die Tiefe hinzufügen. Jedes Element oder jede Box, von Bildframes über Schaltflächen bis hin zu Navigationswerkzeugen, ist gestochen scharf und hat keine gefiederten Kanten oder Schatten.


Einfache Effekte

Flat Design verwendet viele einfache Elemente der Benutzeroberfläche wie Schaltflächen und Symbole. Designer halten sich oft an einfache Formen wie Rechtecke, Kreise oder Quadrate und lassen jede Form alleine stehen. Formkanten können perfekt eckig und quadratisch sein oder eine Krümmung aufweisen.


Typografie im Fokus

Aufgrund der Einfachheit des Elements in flacher Bauweise ist Typografie extrem wichtig. Der Schrifttyp sollte dem insgesamt vereinfachenden Design entsprechen.


Fokus auf Farbe

Farbe ist ein wichtiges Element des Flat Designs. Während die meisten Farbpaletten sich höchstens auf zwei oder drei Farben konzentrieren, können Flat Designpaletten sechs bis acht Farben gleichermassen verwenden.


flat design

Quelle


Minimalistischer Ansatz

Flat Design funktioniert gut mit einem minimalistischen Design-Ansatz. Der Fokus sollte auf einfachen Farben und Fotos liegen.

Flat Design in der Schweiz

Wie der Rest des Webs ist auch das Flat Design im Schweizer Web allgegenwärtig. Werfen wir einen Blick auf einige Websites, die Flat Design als Bildsprache verwenden, um einzigartige Benutzererlebnisse zu schaffen.

Das erste Beispiel ist die RDT54-Website. Sie sind spezialisiert auf das Management und die Koordination von Immobilienprojekten. Die Bilder auf der Website sind sauber und modern. Die Website besteht aus flachen Symbolen und Formen. Die Farben sind kräftig und leuchtend und werden verwendet, um die von ihnen angebotenen Dienstleistungen zu betonen und zu unterscheiden.


flat design

Quelle


Das zweite Beispiel ist eine Kampagnen-Microsite, die mit einfachen Farbeffekten auf Bildern und flachen Illustrationen eine Geschichte erzählt. Mit viel Whitespace und fetter Typografie ist diese Microsite effektiv, um den Nutzern ihren Standpunkt zu vermitteln.


flat design

Quelle


Das dritte Beispiel ist eine Reise-Website, die Ihnen hilft, Erfahrungen in einem einzigen Raum zu erforschen und zu buchen.  Die Homepage besteht aus einem einfachen Layout. Jedes Bild ist mit einfachen Illustrationen verziert, was diese Website spielerischer und einzigartiger macht.


flat design

Quelle


Schweizer Design ist weltweit bekannt für seine Einfachheit und Effektivität. Es favorisiert den Minimalismus und verwendet schwere typografische Gitter und einfache geometrische Formen. Alle diese Features werden im Flat Design verwendet, daher ist Flat Design perfekt für die Schweizer Webdomains.

Flaches Design im 2019


flat design

Quelle


Dieser Designstil begann als ein weiterer Trend, wurde aber im Laufe der Jahre zum Standard für Webdesign. Grund für den Aufstieg des flat Designs ist der Bedarf an schnell ladenden Websites. Die Benutzer erwarten ein angenehmes Surferlebnis auf dem Handy und dem Desktop. Dies kann sich mit der Entwicklung des Materialdesigns ändern.

Seit 2014 hat sich das User Experience Design in Richtung einer ansprechenderen Ebene entwickelt. Animationen, 3D-Icons, Licht- und Schattenfunktionen und Farbverläufe wurden zu einem der wichtigsten Entwurfswerkzeuge für einen benutzerzentrierten Ansatz.

Von Minimalismus und Klarheit des flat Designs wechselten wir zu Lebendigkeit, erhöhter Interaktivität und Anpassungsfähigkeit des Designs an verschiedene Geräte und Anpassungen.

Während sich Designänderungen langsam auf uns zubewegen, werden einige Funktionen dennoch nützlich und präsent sein. Das Streben nach Minimalismus und Struktur sowie die Verwendung leuchtender Farben werden auch weiterhin Hauptprinzipien eines guten Webdesigns sein.

Das folgende Beispiel zeigt eine Website, die ein flaches Design mit 3D-Effekten und Animationen verwendet.


Fazit

Flat Design ist ein minimalistischer Ansatz für das Design. Es soll die Komplexität des Designs reduzieren und somit die Benutzererfahrung verbessern.

Flat Design hat alle wichtigen Eigenschaften, die eine Website so funktional wie schön machen. Damit kommen wir einem neuen Paradigma des digitalen Designs einen Schritt näher, bei dem Funktionalität und Ästhetik in vollkommener Harmonie stehen.

Wenn Sie Hilfe bei der Gestaltung Ihrer Website benötigen, kontaktieren Sie uns heute für eine kostenlose Beratung.

Kontaktiere Uns

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf einen Stern für Ihre Bewertung!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung / 5. Anzahl Bewertungen:

Teilen

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Weitere ähnliche Artikel