payment gateaway

Payment gateway in Switzerland: a short guide

  • 6 min read

Rating

What is a payment gateway?

A payment gateway is a software that allows payments for online shops and retailers and plays an important role in the transaction process. It protects the data on the credit card by encrypting the confidential information it contains. This process ensures that personal information is securely shared between the customer and the online store.

If you have an online store and are interested in accepting credit card payments either online or via a mobile device, you will need a payment gateway. It is the bridge between your product sales and your customer.

How does a payment gateway work?

In online payments, payment gateways are the link between the sellers and banks or credit card organizations. Payment gateways facilitate communication within the banks. You submit the transaction information from the buyer's bank to the seller's bank (for example, if a transaction is approved or declined).

By securely transferring information between the online store and the credit card and then returning transaction data to the website, it is the main component that enables e-commerce to function.

Security is an integral part of all payment gateways, especially since sensitive data such as credit card numbers must be protected against fraud. The card associations have created a set of rules and security standards that must be followed by anyone who has access to card information, including gateways.

The transmission of an order is usually made via the HTTPS protocol, which transmits personal data securely via the parties involved in the transaction.

The payment process should run smoothly and make purchasing more comfortable for customers. If it gets too complicated (too many steps, lots of personal information), your customer will give up his purchase and look elsewhere. Look for a payment gateway that accepts all major credit and debit cards. It is also crucial today that the payment gateway is optimized for mobile users.


payment gateway

Make sure that the payment gateway allows for international acceptance unless you expect payments from your local market. The internet is global and transcends all boundaries, so your customers can come from all over the world. Do not limit yourself to a payment gateway that does not allow global payments.

Payment gateways usually charges a fee per transaction. The fees vary depending on the payment gateway. Our recommendation is to find out about several payment gateway providers.

Gateway Fraud Detection

Many payment gateways, such as Postfinance, SIX or BS Payone, allow traders additional options when booking a service or purchasing a product. In addition to being able to conduct real-time transactions, these providers can also help convert currencies between two parties in different countries, as well as bridge language and payment methods.

In addition, payment gateways screen orders with a variety of helpful tools. These screening procedures filter out possible fraud cases.

Here are some examples of Gateway Fraud Detection programs:
  • Verification of delivery address
  • AVS checks
  • Computer Fingerprint Technology
  • Speed pattern analysis
  • Identity transformation detection
  • geolocation.

Conclusion

When creating a web shop, it’s important to choose the right payment gateway for your products, region you want to sell and your customers. If you have questions about payment gateways, you can always contact us!

Contact us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

Share

Subscribe to our newsletter

Payment Gateway in der Schweiz: ein kurzer Leitfaden

payment gateway

Was ist ein Payment Gateway?

Ein Payment Gateway ist eine Software, welche Zahlungen für Onlineshops sowie Einzelhandel zulässt und eine wichtige Rolle im Transaktionsprozess wahrnimmt. Es schützt die Daten auf der Kreditkarte, indem es die darin enthaltenen vertraulichen Informationen verschlüsselt. Dieser Prozess stellt sicher, dass personenbezogene Daten sicher zwischen dem Kunden und dem Händler weitergegeben werden.

Wenn Sie einen Onlineshop haben und daran interessiert sind, Kreditkartenzahlungen entweder online oder über ein mobiles Gerät zu akzeptieren, benötigen Sie ein Payment Gateway. Es ist die Brücke zwischen Ihrem Produktverkauf und Ihrem Kunden.


Wie funktioniert ein Payment Gateway?

Im elektronischen Zahlungsverkehr stellen Payment Gateways die Verbindung zwischen Händlern und Banken bzw. Kreditkartenorganisationen dar. Payment Gateways erleichtern die Kommunikation innerhalb der Banken. Sie übermitteln die Transaktionsinformationen von der Bank des Käufers an die Bank des Verkäufers (z.B. ob eine Transaktion genehmigt oder abgelehnt wird).

Durch die sichere Übertragung von Informationen zwischen dem Onlineshop und der Kreditkarte und die anschliessende Rückgabe von Transaktionsdaten an die Webseite ist es die Hauptkomponente, welche dem E-Commerce ermöglicht zu funktionieren.

Die Sicherheit ist ein umfassender Bestandteil aller Payment-Gateways, zumal sensible Daten wie Kreditkartennummern vor Betrug geschützt werden müssen. Die Kartenverbände haben eine Reihe von Regeln und Sicherheitsstandards geschaffen, die von jedem eingehalten werden müssen, der Zugang zu Karteninformationen einschliesslich Gateways hat.

Die Übermittlung einer Bestellung erfolgt in der Regel über das HTTPS-Protokoll, das personenbezogene Daten sicher über die an der Transaktion beteiligten Parteien übermittelt.

Der Zahlungsprozess sollte reibungslos ablaufen und den Einkauf für die Kunden angenehm gestalten. Falls es zu umständlich wird (zu viele Schritte, viele persönliche Informationen), wird Ihr Kunde seinen Kauf aufgeben und sich woanders umsehen. Suchen Sie nach einem Payment Gateway, welches alle gängigen Kredit- und Debitkarten akzeptiert. Es ist heutzutage ebenfalls entscheidend, dass das Payment Gateway für mobile Nutzer optimiert ist.

payment gateway

Stellen Sie sicher, dass das Payment Gateway eine internationale Akzeptanz ermöglicht, sofern Sie nicht nur Zahlungen von Ihrem lokalen Markt erwarten. Das Internet ist global und überschreitet alle Grenzen, somit können Ihre Kunden aus allen Teilen der Welt kommen. Beschränken Sie sich nicht auf ein Payment-Gateway, das keine globalen Zahlungen zulässt.

Payment-Gateways erheben in der Regel eine Gebühr pro Transaktion. Die Gebühren sind je nach Payment Gateway unterschiedlich. Unsere Empfehlung ist es, sich über mehrere Payment Gateway Anbieter zu informieren.

Gateway-Betrugserkennungsprogramme

Viele Payment Gateways, wie z.B. Postfinance, SIX oder BS Payone, ermöglichen Händlern zusätzliche Optionen, wenn eine Dienstleistung gebucht oder ein Produkt gekauft wird. Neben der Möglichkeit, Transaktionen in Echtzeit durchzuführen, können diese Anbieter auch bei der Umrechnung von Währungen zwischen zwei Parteien in verschiedenen Ländern sowie bei der Überbrückung von Sprache und Zahlungsmethoden helfen.

Zudem durchleuchten Payment Gateways Bestellungen mit einer Vielzahl hilfreicher Tools. Diese Screening-Verfahren filtern mögliche Betrugsfälle heraus.

Anbei einige Beispiele der Gateway-Betrugserkennungsprogramme:
  • Überprüfung der Lieferadresse
  • AVS-Prüfungen
  • Computer-Fingerabdruck-Technologie,
  • Geschwindigkeitsmusteranalyse
  • Erkennung von Identitätsverwandlungen
  • Geolokalisierung

Fazit

Beim Erstellen eines Webshops ist es wichtig, das richtige Zahlungsgateway für Ihre Produkte, die Region in der Sie Produkte verkaufen, und Ihre Kunden auszuwählen. Wenn Sie Fragen zu Payment Gateways haben, können Sie uns jederzeit kontaktieren!
Teilen

Abonniere Unseren Newsletter